Birthday Post: My 20 Random Acts Of Kindness At 20!!!

Standard

Nothing is better than the perspective for helping a person want to do the right thing.

When you have something going to live for, not only does it make you desire a long life, but it also helps you see the importance of the steps along the way. Seeing the big picture enables us to put up with the limitations.
I came across this on Amy Bennett’s post a couple of months ago and was inspired. I loved what she did but I knew I wanted to try. So I decided to start my random acts of kindness since June leading up to my birthday. Got few ideas from Brad’s Post.

Here are my 20 acts of random (or maybe not so random) kindness:

1.Phoned My Parents and told them i love them.

2.Payed fares for the next person.

3.Complimented a stranger who looks down. At least, when he looked up I saw a smile.

4.Offered to help some people in an area where i have a lot of skill.

5.Put my copy writing skill to work by helping someone on a research project with 34 hour deadline.

6.Asked to see a manager and gave them personal POSITIVE feedback on their services.

7.Let someone in front of me on a busy highway. Did it and most of them thought I was just a quiet and shy person. Ouch!

8.I went to the bank to make deposit and their customer care lady was particularly helpful and accommodating. When checking out she gave me a survey to take.  I was in a rush, but I took it in hopes that it would help her in some way since she helped me.

9.I made a conscious effort to make eye contact and smile with others at a supermarket. I know it always makes a day to get a smile from a stranger!

10.Sent a note of encouragement to a fellow blogger.

11.Picked up litter in the parking space and around school.

12.Kept my side of an agreement on one hand, for an honest review on two books:Firstly, 10 Minute Digital Declutter co-authored by S.J. Scott of HabitBooks and Barrie Davenport of Live Bold and Bloom. Secondly, 7 Things Resilient People Do Differently by Akash Karia  while on the other hand, I got a copy as a gift.

13.Helped a friend to start up a little business. After that, i learned being an entrepreneur and calling yourself one are two different things.

14.As a way of showing someone that his idea was worth the risk he took, I opt-in and seeked adverts for him. I brushed my marketing skills beautifully.

15.Didn’t wait to say “hello” and ask how some people were doing. What i realized from this is that sometimes we shy away from people when we know they’re having a rough time. We assume we should wait for them to approach us, so we’re not intruding. Instead, i have now learned to ask people how they’re doing. If they don’t want to talk, they’ll say they’re “fine.”Many people will be relieved to have someone to talk to. If you don’t ask, they might never mention anything to you. They might not want to burden you with their problems

16.Smiled at everyone I passed by. It didn’t just make them happy but I also got more happier.

17.Helped someone realize the importance of reading books. Now she reads two books per month.

18.Helped someone who looked lost and needed help with directions; without waiting to be asked.

19.Taking myself out on a treat. At least I need to do a little kindness for myself too.

20.Used every opportunities I had to give compliments. It costs nothing, took no time, and i know it could make someone’s entire day. One thing I learned from doing this is to not just think it in the mind but to simply Say it.

This was a great project. It was tiring to some extent physically, mentally, and emotionally.  I was surprised in both positive and negative ways by people’s reactions. The hardest tasks were the ones where I had to interact with people. It was harder to interact with someone, make eye contact and explain why I was doing what I was doing. But, those were also the most rewarding tasks.

I’m glad I was able to complete the 20 acts. It did make my birthday fun.

Rather than going and buying a new outfit for myself I was able to spend that money and time to make others happy. And  making others happy is what makes me happy.

For my birthday I would love if you could do just two things:

  • Perform just one random act of kindness today. It would make my heart happy and I’m sure it will make yours happy as well! And I would love it if you would leave a comment saying what you did!

  • As a gift from you to me, I’d like it if you could recommend few excellent books to read.

I know God will use the “acts” in other’s lives but I also know He can use it in mine. I am so excited! This may become a birthday tradition! By Touching lives and Changing the world, One Birthday at a time.

Happy 9/12!!

P.s As an act of kindness, you can promote your links here let’s connect!

11 thoughts on “Birthday Post: My 20 Random Acts Of Kindness At 20!!!

  1. Happy Birthday Precious! 🙂 This is an amazing thing that you’re doing..really inspirational. 🙂
    Well, for my ramdom act of kindness today, I did a household chore that another member in the family is supposed to do. I know it’s a small thing but I hope she’ll appreciate it. 🙂
    thehappylife101.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Nina,

      Thanks for the wishes.

      Haha that’s an amazing act. At least you didn’t have to leave your home to show some love.

      No matter how small, she sure will appreciate it a whole lot you know.

      Thanks Nina for sharing with us.
      Hope you’re having a great weekend??😇

      Much love

      Like

  2. Happy Birthday!! What a truly selfless way to help others, love it!! Here are two books for you –
    The Master’s Sacred Knowledge by Allan Rufus
    Be Chief by Rick Miller (I went to high school with him)
    I know the reward is the satisfaction and wonderful feeling that comes with being kind to others, but you will receive blessings back for your good deeds, even though that was not your intention!! Hope you had fun today. Thank you so much for your kind words about my site!
    http://www.onceuponahotflash.com
    🎂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

