Failure is of the mind

image

What we call failure, is not the falling down but the staying down. — Mary Pickford

image

  Once in our lifetime, we must have been faced with situations which turned out to be a total failure because it didn’t go as planned or we were not prepared well enough for it. If you are the perfectionist, who haven’t failed at all at anything, this isn’t for you.

But…

For the likes of us who always keep trying and in a while, it turns out to be a total hoax, Keep reading.

The fact you failed doesn’t matter. What actually matters, is what you’ve learned from that down-to-earth moment. When you felt like the ground should swallow you up.

I can remember years back when I was told to give a speech in a crowd of not less than 50 people. Then being my first, I felt reluctant so I had to give it my best shot and at the end you know, it was like a total blunder. I felt like a failure since I couldn’t pull it off but as time went on instead of going all moody and all that, I decided to work on it –my stage fright and all, by trying to be better, practicing more and studying harder. Now, I can talk up to more than that number of people. But Hey! that doesn’t mean I’m good at it though I always seek to improve daily. They say, “practice makes perfect.” which I don’t agree with but rather it brings improvement.

Years back, a friend of mine got injured twice trying to learn how to ride a bike, we laughed and made fun of then but instead of giving up as we all thought, he was more determined to learn to ride. Now, he rides his bike wonderfully well like a Pro.


Same goes to anyone who faced defeat, humiliation or anything from being scared to having stage fright, you either learn from it and work on being better than the YOU you were before or you can stand down and go sulking for being a total failure.

  What matters is in what you think of that situation or scenario you encountered. Do you see it as you being a failure or as an opportunity to try out new tactics or method and improve on your ability?  Think your way out of it. When you fail, it just means you’ve learnt a way which couldn’t work.

Instead of burying your failure, get inspired by it. for winners, loosing inspires them. For losers, losing defeats them. Need more clarity? No professional top celebrity or hero had never failed.

Thomas Edison created failed prototypes of his electric bulb 999 times; 1500 times Sylvester Stallone was rejected when he tried selling his script and himself as the film “Rocky” you remember it right? 3 times Steven Spielberg was rejected by university of Southern California; 400 times Richard Branson launched companies before he founded virgin galactic; 1009 times colonel Sanders who started KFC got turned down  when he tried selling his fried chicken recipe.

Normally, we are being taught that mistakes are bad, but actually as humans we are meant to learn from them. Remember babies? They fall most times before getting to walk. If we never fell down, we will never walk. The same is true about learning to ride bicycle. You get scared but later you ride without even thinking.

I always tried to turn every disaster into an opportunity. _John D. Rockefeller

With that, how many times should you try? Once, twice, or more? It just depends on you. Failure is of the mind. Walk out of it. This very moment, you should work at being better than the YOU of yesterday. Go ahead and try new things you never can tell what lies ahead.

We’ve all got diverse view of this, how do you think failure is?

Think Positive, Think Different.

{Don’t forget to share, comment and subscribe!}

11 thoughts on “Failure is of the mind”

  1. Thanks, I grew up thinking failure was unthinkable. All that has changed. I’ve learned that the path to success is lined with a number of mistakes and failures.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nicely said. that was how i felt before but since i realized the fact that mistakes and failure = success, i felt at peace. this kind of shows how learning is something that remains constant. Thanks for your comment. Have a lovely day.
      much love, George.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be
    happy. I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some
    interesting things or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it! http://yahoo.net

    Like

  3. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your blog
    on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get
    home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, amazing blog! http://yahoo.net

    Like

Share your thoughts

