Alert!!! There’s a new earthly virus called ISBS

Standard

Busy is a drug that a lot of people are addicted to.
~Rob Bell

Time is running out! I’m so busy!
Sometimes, when I don’t get to write, I guess I’m down with a virus.
It’s because I came down with a new earthly virus called ISBS AKA “I’m so busy syndrome”.
I’ve been busy. Everyone I know is busy and yes, BUSY, is the new earthly virus.

How do you know if you have ISBS?

Ask yourself these questions:
1. Are you filled with exhaustion?
2. Are you feeling frustrated with all the activities and things you have to do?
3. Are you telling everyone how busy you are?
If the answer you gave to all these questions is yes, then you have ISBS. And as of late, I’ve had it too.
Are we really that busy? Or is the word “busy” just an excuse?
I’ve been a victim of words like:
“I can’t see you because I’m so busy.”
Does it look like it’s bragging? Some people are like  “I’m so important because I’m so busy.”

Sometimes it’s good to be busy so you can’t confront a real problem or a relationship that is bothering you.
To an extent I kinda tell myself,  “Maybe I fill my life with all this stuff because then I won’t notice how unhappy I am.”
I really was busy. It wasn’t an excuse. Yes, I was as tired as so many of us could be; Juggling work, blogging, going to school, sports and humanitarian activities. We know we need to get through it.

And….

“Really busy” or “crazy busy” just seems like the generally good words to describe this disease.
I got tired of hearing myself complain about my busyness. It was time to let go of the word busy and the idea of busy. But how do you do that if you really are busy like I was?

5 Ways to deal with the Earthly Virus

  1. Set your priorities right.

I asked myself what I didn’t want to give up. My school and humanitarian activities.

He who has a task to perform must know how to take sides, or he is quite unworthy of it. -Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

  1. Choose what you’re willing to let go for awhile.
    Then I asked myself what I was willing to give up. Sleep mostly – I would wake up early, stay up late and sometimes get up in the middle of the night to get things done. I also gave up writing on the blog, of course temporarily.

When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be. -Lao Tzu

  1. Apply The Pareto principle
    This principle is also known as the 80–20 rule, the law of the vital few, and the principle of factor sparsity. It states that, for many events, roughly 80% of the effects come from 20% of the causes.

I asked myself, “Can I be more effective with my time?” I needed some big blocks of time for my activities. Yet, I could use a few extra minutes here and there to get the little things done. So I tried to use that time wisely and efficiently. As my zen papa always reminds me, “Touch it once.”

  1. Take Breathing  exercises.
    I did a lot of breathing exercises. And I tried to take walks.( Like a lot). Just Anything to clear my mind for a while.
    Sometimes, it’s good to drop out of life for a little while. I have spent time doing a lot of rejuvenating. No writing, instead naps. I’m back to my photography taking pictures of the little things in nature, a dew drop and few awesome things nature could give.

“God has placed no limits to the exercise of the intellect he has given us, on this side of the grave.” -Francis Bacon

  1. Redefine Fun.
    If you end up chunking down all those crazy stuff and then get focused, don’t forget to have fun– I mean real fun. Sometimes, I felt that fun was being busy but after awhile I’ve for a clear-cut new definition on what fun really is. It will make your life easy.

“Fun is a good thing but only when it spoils nothing better.” -George Santayana

Think Positive, Think Different

what method did you apply to reduce being too busy?
{Don’t forget to share, comment and subscribe!}

3 thoughts on “Alert!!! There’s a new earthly virus called ISBS

  1. I’ve felt overwhelmed for the longest time, since my two children was born (Leo and my website, they are practically twins! :D). As you, I always had a ton of things to do and all seemed very important. I couldn’t even be able to rest my mind while sleeping. But a few days ago, this changed.
    I was feeling lost, but now I found myself and one of the things that helped was to refocus on my goals and set my priorities. I stopped writing for my blog, I stopped being present on most social media and just worked on the behind-the-scenes: setting up my home first, making it cozy. So then I could invite my guests and make them feel comfortable and joyful.

    This was a wonderful post, I particularly enjoyed the “touch it once” advice. Going to research more about it!

    Like

Share your thoughts

