4 Secrets Children Can Teach Us About Creativity.

Standard

image
photo credit: Thinkpynk

Every child is an artist, the
problem is staying an artist when you grow up – Pablo Picasso

I don’t know if this has happened to you too (yet, I bet it has), but many times in the past I used to find myself procrastinating throughout the day, though I really love what I do. Deep inside I wanted
to create new projects, but I felt tied down by daily routine, and I had very little time to think in a different and creative way. Every day I used to promise
myself, “Today I will focus on this and that.” But too bad, I couldn’t keep that promise. Something else always needed my immediate attention. Talk about multitasking. My priorities were never set on what I wanted to create. It was at that moment I realized that my creativity has been blocked. Instead of investing my time in things that inspire me, I was merely spending it doing just the normal thing all day long. This spoiled my energy and made me exhausted, disoriented and in a negative mood that not only left me far from being inspired, but also caused me to lose my focus on the creative things that were of importance to me.

But why do we, end up living in a mostly uncreative way? Little by little, day by day, we forget the behaviors we used to have as kids that enhanced our creative attitudes. I have been so preoccupied in focusing more on the “shoulds” and “musts” of the daily life, which dictate a very strict and uninspired way of behaving: following a very precise program of “to do’s”, meeting specific social obligations and the rest. Yes it’s children’s day, i had to look through my childhood pics. I felt like i was reliving those fun experiences again. I realized that the kind of condition we allow leads us far away from such wonderful habits we used to have. These childhood behaviors, if carried can ensure increased creativity and allow us to develop our creative side so that we actually implement all our creative projects enjoyably and to our own benefit.
So, what are the things we can learn from kids in order to keep our creative juices flowing? Here are 4 habits to incorporate into your daily life:

1. Never take something
for granted.

Children examine everything as totally new
information, from the simplest object to the most
elaborate scene. They exhibit a constant natural
curiosity about everything, from a regular object,
like their plastic goblet, to more elaborated ones
like a mechanical toy, a TV set, or a bicycle. This
big “why” children keep asking all the time is a
rich source of knowledge and inspiration. Unfortunately, we take a lot of this for granted and we don’t put many questions into our daily routine.
If we start following kids’ examples, this could provide us with new perspectives of the “usual” and the “routine” and thus with refreshing
solutions to overcome our constant
preoccupation with uncreative obligations.

2. All is done happily.
The quest for creativity is a source of happy
emotions for children. Have you ever seen a creative person sad? When they create, they do
it joyfully, and they are happy because they can
express their creativity. This is the loop of creativity. The more we create, the more happy
we become, and when we are happy we can be more and more creative. Non-creative activities do not offer us any positive emotion, only
frustration and stress, that after a while drains our creative energy, leaving us unmotivated and easily overwhelmed. In order to re-boost our own
creative loop, we can create minor projects that
will certainly provide us with positive emotions upon their completion. These emotions will become the basis of new creative projects.

3. They do things together
I don’t know if you sang this then( I bet you did)
There’s a Nursery rhyme I was taught which goes like this
the more we are together,
together together,
The more we are together,
The happier will shall be,
When your friend is my friend,
And my friend is your friend…
They do things as a TEAM –which means together everyone achieves more.

4. They’ve got no issue with Perfection

Children do not project high expectations on their creativity. They do not expect to ensure the best outcomes in order to realize an idea. They merely conceive and start creating in the physical plane. They don’t put obstacles in the way of manifestation, such as, “If it is not perfect, it’s not worth doing.” In the end, they have their idea done (e.g. a painting, a song, a pottery sculpture), along with great satisfaction over their accomplishment (aka a boost of positive emotions) and a newly acquired experience that offers betterment to their skills. We can do the same thing; start creating without criticizing our projects with an overdose of perfectionism. The results will surprise you with unadulterated joy.

So how much time and energy does it take to start implementing the core ideas of these strategies to our own daily life? It suffices to let ourselves stay genuine to our personality and apply them in small ways to our natural
behavior.

Do you ever feel creative blocks in your own activities too? What other creative attitude can we adopt from children?

Ps. Need help! My little cousins are zapping my energy. They just never get tired. Boy! was i like this then?

Think Positive, Think Different.

{Don’t forget to share, comment and subscribe!}

2 thoughts on “4 Secrets Children Can Teach Us About Creativity.

Share your thoughts

